Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Help for Audacity on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
David Mack
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 3:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Post by David Mack » Fri May 07, 2021 3:12 am

Hi. I've been recording and editing for a year or more.
For the first time, when I try to replay, it seems as though it is trying to play a microsecond. If I press STOP, the play button stands down from highlighted or click PLAY, it highlights but the cursor does not move.
This applies for every file old or new. Have I set it for some crazy limited time playing?
Thanks, I'm desperate. I've re-installed twice. Same result.

David Mack
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 3:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Post by David Mack » Fri May 07, 2021 4:29 am

This isn't a reply but an extension query. From the screenshot attached readers can see that it should be playing: the PLAY button highlighted, the green triangle cursor on the timeline in place. It kinda flickers.
Could it be I created a tiny tiny loop that I can't get out of?
Attachments
Audacity Screenshot PLAY.jpg
Audacity Screenshot PLAY.jpg (101.51 KiB) Viewed 145 times

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 69297
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

Re: Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Post by kozikowski » Fri May 07, 2021 9:03 am

Audacity can do that when it can't figure out how to play to your speakers or headphones. It can do that if you have Wireless Headphones, for one common example.

Go into Windows control panels or setups and see if your headphones or speakers are listed there. There have been several recent postings from people with the wrong playback setting.

Koz

jademan
Forum Crew
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:11 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Post by jademan » Sat May 08, 2021 11:38 am

Do you have confidence that your speakers are working properly?

Have you tried switching between MME and WASAPI?

Have you tried rebooting?

David Mack
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 3:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Post by David Mack » Sat May 08, 2021 3:10 pm

Thanks for both of those suggestions.
What I've done immediately to get myself out of a hole was to bring up the affected files, select & copy, then shoehorn them in a couple of old short test recording wav files before editing out the original test recording material which was only 30 secs or so. Then save, renamed as the files I was worried about losing.
I deleted the entire program, then reinstalled in the same folder (from a fresh download) to ensure my old plug-ins were not lost.
I'll check the sound output settings but it is not as if the cursor was moving at all as though playing even though the play button was depressed. One thing that can happen if I'm editing too fast is accidentally setting a playback loop so at each 'play' command it just repeats the small selected section until I click my way out. But imagine I'd created a 0.001 second loop in some frenzied double click. That might account for the little wobble the cursor gave during 'play'. (I'd have to zoom in to the max to click out of that.)
Anyway many thanks for your quick responses.

jademan
Forum Crew
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:11 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Play Button Won't Work. Frozen.

Post by jademan » Sat May 08, 2021 6:58 pm

David Mack wrote:
Sat May 08, 2021 3:10 pm
One thing that can happen if I'm editing too fast is accidentally setting a playback loop so at each 'play' command it just repeats the small selected section until I click my way out. But imagine I'd created a 0.001 second loop in some frenzied double click. That might account for the little wobble the cursor gave during 'play'.
Curious...

Post Reply