Audacity not recognizing line from keyboard

I am new to every last bit of this so please forgive me if this is a stupid question …

I’d like to try recording from my Yamaha keyboard and thought I could do so simply by connecting my keyboard to the computer (using Windows 10) with a USB cable and recording in Audacity. However, my computer is recognizing the cable/keyboard; Audacity is not.

What am I doing wrong? Do I need a different type of cable? Something that plugs into a different spot? I figured it would sound ‘cleaner’ to record this way rather than via a mic (which I don’t have anyway) … thinking of background noises, etc? … but, like I said … I have no idea what I’m doing!

Thank you in advance for any assistance!

Check the specs for your keyboard, The USB port might be MIDI only. MIDI isn’t digital audio. It’s “notes & timing” messages and the sound is then generated by virtual instruments (software).

Audacity is NOT a MIDI application (it has some limited MIDI capabilities).

If you have a desktop/tower computer you can connect headphone-out* or line-out from your keyboard to line-in (blue) on your soundcard. The mic input on a laptop is not “correct”. If you don’t have a soundcard with line-in there are USB audio interfaces with line-in.

It’s probably easier to record the audio than to use MIDI and with the audio connection you’ll get the actual sound of the keyboard. But with MIDI you can edit the notes & timing after recording or change to a completely different virtual instrument.

\

• If the the headphone output is the only analog output you have, you’ll probably need a splitter to listen to your headphones while recording. You can listen through the computer but there is latency (a delay) and if the delay is noticeable it’s difficult to perform.

That’s how I do it. My Yamaha keyboard digital output is MIDI only. I record the analog headphone signal.

https://www.kozco.com/tech/organfinale.mp3