new computer

Help for Audacity on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
Craig Buhler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:25 pm
Operating System: Please select

new computer

Post by Craig Buhler » Thu Apr 15, 2021 9:02 am

I just upgraded to a new, faster computer (from Windows 7 to Windows 10).
When i press record, it always used to create a new track and begin at the cursor.
Now, it is appending the recording to the end of an existing track.
Also, when i press record, the other tracks do NOT play.

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 14595
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: new computer

Post by waxcylinder » Thu Apr 15, 2021 9:23 am

And you upgraded to a newer version of Audacity I'm guessing.

We swapped it around so that
a) unmodified Record - records on the same track
b) Shift+Record - records on a new track.

It used to be the other way around - if you want to revert to the old way just go to Recording Preferences and check "on" Record on a new track, which is "off" by default.

See: https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/rec ... ences.html


Also there check "on" Play other tracks while recording (overdub)

Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * *

Craig Buhler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:25 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: new computer

Post by Craig Buhler » Mon Apr 19, 2021 5:22 am

Thank you so very much, Peter. That's what i needed. That fixed the "RECORD" button.
And the "R" keyboard shortcut can be reset in EDIT / PREFERENCES / KEYBOARD.

Is there a way i can auto-receive an email, when my question is answered? Your response did not generate an autoemail. I only noticed it when returning to the Forum. OK, I see, check the box at the bottom which says, "NOTIFY ME WHEN A REPLY IS POSTED."

Post Reply