Pitch and Tempo issue on recording changes mid recording

Hi Guys,

New to the forum and I’m a bit of a novice with software so please be patient!

I record a podcast and twice now Audacity mid recording has changed the pitch and tempo of my recording so that it sounds like a chipmunk.

The first time was a pain and I assumed I had hit a hot key on the keyboard (ultimately I reduced the tempo by about 59% and the pitch by 22% and it allowed us to hear what the audio actually was. Unfortunately there was a significant amount of static on the recording which meant that I had to re-record that part of the podcast (tried using noise reduction but still wouldn’t allow the audio to be usable.)

The same thing has happened again (Static present, tempo increased, pitch too high) but the last hour of the file now sounds as though it’s underwater and has a significant echo on it (after reducing the tempo and pitch.)

Can anyone give me advice as to what the issue is to prevent it happening again and can anyone advise on how to fix the audio to be usable or at least to hear what was said so I can re-record?

Many thanks all.

Audacity Software version 2.3.3
Mic Beecaster
Windows Surface Pro

You’re probably getting [u]dropouts[/u]. If there are lots of little missing parts in the recording it will play back faster and you’ll get glitches noise.

There are some troubleshooting hits [u]here[/u].

It can be complicated but it’s related to multitasking interrupting the audio. It’s best if you don’t run other applications while recording and you can try to minimize any background operations. Your operating system is ALWAYS multi-tasking even if you are running only one application and there are recording & playback buffers (like storage tanks) that try to keep the audio flowing smoothly in & out when everything is working “nicely”.