Crackling when two separate clips are played

Hello!

Been recording my vocals for a song that I am planning to post on youtube but for some reason there is a crackling noise when my vocals are being played with the music.

This is my first time using audacity so I am not quite sure what the issue is. It is definitely not the recordings as when I play them separately, they sound fine.

Don’t know if its because my singing is too loud for the music so its distoring, or if its a problem with the sample rates, settings etc.

Been looking online but can’t seem to find much information on this topic.

I would appreciate any help I could be given with this as its a problem that is highly stressing me out.

Thanks all! :slightly_smiling_face:

p.s. may try uninstalling and reinstalling but if I do that, I will let y’all know if that fixes the issue.

How are you “playing them together”? Are both tracks loaded into Audacity?

Try cutting the volume of both tracks in half. (Run the Amplify effect at -6dB.) Mixing is done by summation so you can easily get clipping (overload distortion). …Analog mixers are built-around summing amplifiers, but they have a level control for each input plus a master control so it’s more of a weighted average.

If it ends-up too-quiet you can re-import the mix and Amplify or Normalize. Or instead of reducing the volume before mixing you can export to floating-point WAV (which can go over 0dB without clipping). Then re-import and Amplify or Normalize to bring the levels down. (You shouldn’t “produce” a file that goes over 0dB because the DAC can clip when it’s played.)

Hello,

Thanks for getting back to me and sorry for taking so long to respond!