Help getting dialed in for ACX specs

Help for Audacity on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
piercetheplanet
Operating System: Windows 10

Help getting dialed in for ACX specs

Post by piercetheplanet » Tue Mar 30, 2021 1:25 pm

Hello Audacity people.

First post here. I'm a pro VO dude trying to get my home setup dialed-in.

SM7b -> cloudlifter -> PreSonus Studio 24c to USB-in on my mobo for a Windows 10 system using Audacity 3.0.0. Attached is the raw audio recording per the guidelines.

Goal: Dial in all settings to get the audio as clean as I can in spite of room tone (dry/open/slight echo; using NoiseGate to help with this), all while falling within ACX guidelines for audible/itunes/etc.

Open to suggestions in any regard aside from changing hardware. Happy to video call to help show setup. Happy to tip/exchange VOX lesson for your help/teach you about wine/record VO for your indy project.

I feel like the hardware can deliver what I need, and audacity can help make it sound pro. I feel like I'm getting close, but balancing ACX specs with RMS normalize feels like I'm chasing my tail and doing too much editing due to lack of know-how with the DAW.

Thanks in advance. I love you. Happy Easter.

Pierce

piercetheplanet

Re: Help getting dialed in for ACX specs

Post by piercetheplanet » Tue Mar 30, 2021 1:35 pm

VERY SORRY. Please refer to the attachment on this post for the audio sample, the gain was turned up on the track in the last recording.

Pierce
Attachments
Audacity Voice Test2.wav
Unedited audio