Help getting dialed in for ACX specs

Hello Audacity people.

First post here. I’m a pro VO dude trying to get my home setup dialed-in.

SM7b → cloudlifter → PreSonus Studio 24c to USB-in on my mobo for a Windows 10 system using Audacity 3.0.0. Attached is the raw audio recording per the guidelines.

Goal: Dial in all settings to get the audio as clean as I can in spite of room tone (dry/open/slight echo; using NoiseGate to help with this), all while falling within ACX guidelines for audible/itunes/etc.

Open to suggestions in any regard aside from changing hardware. Happy to video call to help show setup. Happy to tip/exchange VOX lesson for your help/teach you about wine/record VO for your indy project.

I feel like the hardware can deliver what I need, and audacity can help make it sound pro. I feel like I’m getting close, but balancing ACX specs with RMS normalize feels like I’m chasing my tail and doing too much editing due to lack of know-how with the DAW.

Thanks in advance. I love you. Happy Easter.

Pierce

VERY SORRY. Please refer to the attachment on this post for the audio sample, the gain was turned up on the track in the last recording.

Pierce

I can’t listen at the moment…

balancing ACX specs with RMS normalize feels like I’m chasing my tail

The [u]Recommended ACX Mastering Process[/u] will nail the peak & RMS requirements every time. The “trick” is limiting… Regular linear volume adjustment changes the peak, RMS, and noise flor by the same dB amount.

Note that these are the ACX requirements and for most voice-over work is should be OK to peak at 0dB so you may be able to change the limiter to 0dB and possibly increase the RMS level by about +3dB also.

slight echo

You might need to add some sound absorption to your “studio”.

using NoiseGate

Don’t over-do it. If the noise floor is too low or if the gating is audible ACX will reject your for “over processing”.