VST Instrument workaround in Audacity using a VST host.

As we know Audacity does not support VST Instrument plugins. If you want to record the output from a VST using a USB keyboard plugged into your computer however I tried this workaround which allowed me to record audio from a VST.

First down load a VST host program - I found NanoHost which is very simple and small. It acts as a host for your VST instrument and turns it into a standalone program.
I tried it with the free TX16WS sampler plugin. The TX16WS is opened as a standalone program and can be programmed. I used the virtual keyboard in the TX16 but it should work with a USB keybd.
Open Audacity and play around with the settings - on my system I used Windows WASAPI, Mic input to the soundcard speaker e.g.on my system Conexant Smart Audio HD and Output speaker to Conexant Smart Audio HD.

Using the virtual keyboard in the sampler the signal is routed to Audacity and can be recorded as an Audio file. I’m no expert but this seems to be a way of using VST sounds for recording simple tracks.
PS Working in Windows 7 using Audacity 2.4.2.

Just a quick update. One problem with the above post is if you are trying to play along with an Audacity rhythm/click track or previously recorded tracks. The click track is also recorded on the VST instrument track.
The solution -
Plug in a USB Audio interface.
Set Audacity as follows
WASAPI or whatever works.
Mic Input - speakers (Conexant or your soundcard speakers)
Speaker output- to your USB Audio interface device with headphones plugged in.
You should now be able to hear the click track and other tracks recorded in Audacity on headphones while recording Audio from the VST instrument.
As mentioned I used this method with the TX16 sampler VST and more recently with Spitfire Labs VST using NanoHost.