Trim and Automatically Reposition

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
dojima
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:17 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by dojima » Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:04 am

Is there a way to trim audio and have Audacity automatically move the resulting audio to 0:00? Right now I'm using CTRL+X, CTRL+A, CTRL+V to do essentially the same thing, but I didn't know if there was something more efficient.

Windows 10
Audacity 2.4.2

Thanks.

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 68268
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by kozikowski » Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:31 am

Is there a way to trim audio and have Audacity automatically move the resulting audio to 0:00?
The DEL key?

Koz

dojima
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:17 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by dojima » Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:01 am

kozikowski wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:31 am
The DEL key?

Koz
That removes the selected audio and repositions it. I'm looking to keep what is selected and reposition it. I could select the audio on either side of what I want to keep and remove it using the DEL key, but that's a bit more troublesome than the workaround I currently use.

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 14316
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by waxcylinder » Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:16 am

You can remove selected audio and have it place on the clipboard with Edit > Cut or its shortcut Ctrl + X

You can then choose where you want to past it (much as you would with Word or Excel etc,)

Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * *

dojima
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:17 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by dojima » Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:27 am

Yeah, that's essentially what I'm doing now, but I'm wondering if there's something similar to CTRL+T, but it automatically time shifts the trimmed audio to 0:00 without having to do it manually.

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 68268
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by kozikowski » Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:40 am

I'm looking to keep what is selected and reposition it.
Oh. Right. Yes, I've run into that. That's a lot more fuss. You want the inverted DEL key.

Koz

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 14316
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by waxcylinder » Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:59 am

dojima wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:27 am
Yeah, that's essentially what I'm doing now, but I'm wondering if there's something similar to CTRL+T, but it automatically time shifts the trimmed audio to 0:00 without having to do it manually.
You could probably write an Audacity Macro to do that ...

Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * *

jademan
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:11 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by jademan » Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:38 pm

waxcylinder wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:59 am
You could probably write an Audacity Macro to do that ...

Peter.
Good Idea.

Code: Select all

Cut:
SelectAll:
Paste:
Does it. Just assign a keyboard shortcut to the macro.

dojima
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:17 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by dojima » Sat Jan 16, 2021 2:41 pm

Ah, that works well. Thanks, all.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 79483
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Trim and Automatically Reposition

Post by steve » Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:51 pm

jademan wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:38 pm

Code: Select all

Cut:
SelectAll:
Paste:
That may not do what you want if the project has more than one track (it will attempt to replace all tracks with the selected audio).

If you want the macro to only act on the selected tracks, try:

Code: Select all

Copy:
SelTrackStartToCursor:
SelCursorToTrackEnd:
Paste:

9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply