Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
jademan
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:11 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by jademan » Mon Jan 18, 2021 4:12 pm

:D You are welcome! :D

michaeljshaw
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:57 am
Operating System: Please select

Configuring Audacity to record with Voicemeeter

Post by michaeljshaw » Sun Feb 07, 2021 11:56 pm

Hi all,

a guy has introduced me to Voicemeeter, and even tech supported me to set up a call through Google Voice,
BUT we didn't resolve how to set up Audacity to pick up the Voicemeeter recording completely.

We could see the Recording meter pick up audio, but there was nothing coming thru the recording.
I'm attaching a couple screenshot, in case it helps.

Koz- any suggestions in Preferences?

thanks!
Attachments
Audacity screenshot.jpg
Audacity screenshot.jpg (212.58 KiB) Viewed 270 times
Audacity screenshot2.jpg
Audacity screenshot2.jpg (136.24 KiB) Viewed 270 times

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 79481
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by steve » Mon Feb 08, 2021 2:23 pm

michaeljshaw wrote:
Sun Feb 07, 2021 11:56 pm
We could see the Recording meter pick up audio
Which "Recording meter"? The one in Audacity?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

michaeljshaw
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:57 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by michaeljshaw » Mon Feb 08, 2021 5:31 pm

Yes- the recording meter at the top middle of Audacity screen. So those levels were moving, but just a flat line on tracks.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 79481
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by steve » Mon Feb 08, 2021 5:54 pm

Try applying the "Amplify" effect (with default settings) to the recorded track to see if there is anything at all there.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

michaeljshaw
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:57 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by michaeljshaw » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:42 am

I'll be setting up in a couple hours and can re-test then, but the guy who's tech supporting me is suggesting I use Reaper instead; that's what he uses and he already has the settings for it.

So I'l go ahead and set that up, and at least i'll have a working platform in place in case I can't get the Audacity-to-Voicemeeter configuration to work.

jademan
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:11 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by jademan » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:46 am

steve wrote:
Mon Feb 08, 2021 5:54 pm
Try applying the "Amplify" effect (with default settings) to the recorded track to see if there is anything at all there.
Hmm.... Also, try View > Track Size > Fit To Width.

michaeljshaw
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:57 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Configuring Audacity to record with Voicemeeter

Post by michaeljshaw » Tue Feb 09, 2021 4:40 am

@steve,

yes- there was something there in the recording: the Amplify recommended 50, I did about 36, and levels went up to an audible level, but there's a lot of hiss.
Does that provide any clues as to what might be missing?

thanks!

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 79481
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Tinny audio w/switch to newer laptop/newer Audacity

Post by steve » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:30 am

michaeljshaw wrote:
Tue Feb 09, 2021 4:40 am
but there's a lot of hiss.
That is to be expected with such a low recording level (amplifying has increased the hiss level by 36 dB, which is a lot).
michaeljshaw wrote:
Tue Feb 09, 2021 4:40 am
Does that provide any clues as to what might be missing?
Yes, it says that your recording level is far too low :)
Unfortunately it does not tell us where we need to increase it.

In VoiceMeeter, how high is the level going in the "Output" meters?
Ideally, all of the meters (input and output) should be going up to -6 dB. It's OK if they go a little higher, but to avoid distortion it is essential that they remain under 0 dB at all times.

Once you have those levels set, adjust the Audacity recording level (if necessary) so that the recording level is around -6 dB and remaining under 0 dB at all times.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

michaeljshaw
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:57 am
Operating System: Please select

Re:low recording levels using voicemeeter

Post by michaeljshaw » Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:31 pm

Thanks Steve!

Will check those db levels as soon as I get the recording setup going again.

Post Reply