Latency in overdubs

Hello. I have been using Audacity for several years now. I use a USB mic and a sound card with headphones. I frequently overdub many tracks and have never experienced latency until recently. I don’t know what happened. I’m looking at latency correction in preferences. Is there a typical correction amount for a USB mic?

Typically about 100 ms.

What is the actual problem that you are trying to solve?

I was not having any problem overdubbing for a time. The monitoring through the headphones was in sync. But now my dub is running behind my base track. What kind of info do I need to solve this? Should I add or subtract? I had to switch to my DR40 to do overdubs.

The monitoring through the headphones was in sync.

Doesn’t matter. That’s Machine latency. Recording latency is when your new track fails to overlay with the backing track.

The setup sounds silly but is pretty easy. Create a click track test and use that as the backing track. Go into overdub and jam your headphones against the microphone.

Stop. Measure the different in time between the two tracks. That’s your correction.

Repeat until the two come out even.

If the two are moving or the error “suddenly happened,” that’s much more serious. That could be the drive having problems, filling up, fragmenting or some other machine failure. You are warned to not run any other apps while you’re overdubbing. There is no “waiting for a Skype call” while you overdub. Shut everything down.

Koz

There’s another common mistake. You have to be recording from a real, live, thing when you overdub. Microphone or microphone driver. You can’t record from a “fake device” such as Stereo Mix, or What-U-Hear. Stereo Mix is used to let you record off-air sounds and music. It’s redirection software not a thing you can reach over and touch.

That will seriously throw off overdubbing.

https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/tutorial_recording_multi_track_overdubs.html

Koz