Project Automatic Recovery Fail

I am using Audacity 2.2.2 in Windows 10 to edit wav files from LP and cassette captures. I am not very experienced with Audacity - until recently I did all the editing with Sound Forge AS9. So far, I do not have any issues the the functions of Audacity, but I have a problem following a power outage yesterday.

I spent several hours manually editing out small clicks and pops from a file, but I never did any project save or export because I was not done with the file. Then we had a power hit. After everything was back up and I restarted Audacity, I saw the Automatic Crash Recovery window that said “the following projects can be automatically recovered:”

So I selected the option to recover and got this very strange message:
Error Importing
Audacity did not recognize the type of the file ‘C\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\Audacity\AutoSave\Slowhand - 2018-01-11 12-17-59 N-323.autosave’.
Try installing FFmpeg. For uncompressed files, also try File > Import > Raw Data.

Now why in the heck would Audacity not recognize the file type of its own autosave file??? Any way to fix this?
Thanx

Maybe what Audacity thinks happened and what actually happened are different. Audacity thinks it crashed while performing some normal activity. What actually happened is the machine went down and you probably have some damaged places on the drive. I don’t think there is any good recovery from that.

Koz

I never did any project save or export because I was not done with the file.

It is recommended that you Export a WAV of a raw capture before you edit it, and then edit a copy.

Doing that for a home project may seem silly, but it sneaks up on you for more important jobs.

“I just got a sound recording of a performance or event that will never happen again…”

Your natural reaction should be export a WAV copy.

For example: The cassette machine ate the tape on the second pass.

Koz