need help?

I’m about to embark on a major project to convert many of my old (very old!) audio cassettes to MP3 and plan to edit them in Audacity (in Windows 10).

As most of the recordings will be of people talking I was wondering if there were any recommended settings in Audacity to clean up the sound (remove tape hiss, etc.) and generally spruce up the audio so it sounds the best it can be, given the original source.

I’m an Audacity newbie so forgive me if I haven’t discovered any ways to do this myself. Any help would be appreciated.

clean up the sound

That’s a danger flag.

Most of the tools (noise reduction, filters, etc) create “good sounding distortion.” They’re not magic.

Noise Reduction removes part of the sound most of which most of the time is tape hiss, but some of the show goes too. For example, audiobook publishers do not allow Noise Reduction because of the voice distortion it can cause.

You can go really far by matching the player to the tapes. If they were recorded Dolby B then they should be played on a machine that knows what Dolby B is and how to manage it. The tape type should match, too. CrO2, Metal, Plain Oxide.

Koz

first, are you getting a good digital recording from the cassette? (Does the digital recording sound as good as the original cassette?)

Every recording is different so there are no automatic presets.

For the hiss you can try [u]Noise Reduction[/u]. But, it’s something you have to experiment with… If the noise is bad, noise reduction can damage the sound and “the cure can be worse then the disease”.