Best interface for version 2.1.0 with Windows 7

Hi, all-

I’m new to Audacity… and new to recording via PC.
My goal with Audacity is to be able to record tracks (kybd, guit, etc), export the tracks (probably via email) to my friend who lives many miles from me, and allow him to add his tracks beside them.
In this way we would like to be able to collaborate on songs, ping-ponging back and forth over long-distance.
We each have laptops with Windows 7 and Audacity version 2.1.0.

What is the best (fairly low-dollar) interface we should use?
Currently I am looking at purchasing the Behringer UMC22 for about $40US.

Your thoughts and experience???

That’s a more grown-up version of the UM2.

In your application it’s good to have a unit that mounts mono easily (plays to both left and right in a stereo show). Both the UM2 and the UMC22 should do that just fine.

People buy stereo or multi-channel units for overdubbing and audiobook work and then have to constantly struggle to make mono in post production. That can be more of a problem than you think. These interface units are not mixers and you can’t easily shift sound through a stereo field.

Many of the Behringer units are rated for zero latency monitoring/perfect overdubbing which is pretty much a requirement for what you’re doing. That’s what the Direct Monitor button does.

What does the person at the other end have? It would be good to find out what they have before you drop bux on hardware. For example, if they’re planning on monitoring the computer for overdubbing, that won’t work as well as what you’re doing. That’s Simple Overdubbing where you can’t hear yourself in the live mix.

Koz

https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/tutorial_recording_multi_track_overdubs.html

Koz

Thanks for the quick input, Koz.

My partner has same versions of Audacity and Windows. We are both still looking for the right interface… thinking that we could eliminate cross-species problems if we get the same piece.