Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by Satamanster » Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:05 am

Actually nevermind... It was just because i was loading the same plugin so the error didn't show up on the second time.. :(
Satamanster
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:55 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by lespaulplayer621 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:31 pm

steve wrote:The only reports I've seen of this issue are the two cases here.
@ lespaulplayer621, you say you have "EXACTLY THE SAME issue". Are you also using the ZIP version of Audacity 2.2.2?

Yes, I'm using the ZIP version of Audacity 2.2.2.
steve wrote:What do you mean by "live monitoring"? What exactly are you doing?

I'm clicking on the Recording Meter Toolbar. Previously when I click that bar I could hear how my effect (i.e. amp simulator) will work, but now I can't do that. So I can hear input signal, but without any change by the effect itself.
lespaulplayer621
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by lespaulplayer621 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:33 pm

Satamanster wrote:Actually nevermind... It was just because i was loading the same plugin so the error didn't show up on the second time.. :(

I've examined your method with running Audacity as an administrator. I've loaded some new effects and it didn't work, so errors are still present. :/
lespaulplayer621
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:45 pm

lespaulplayer621 wrote:I'm clicking on the Recording Meter Toolbar. Previously when I click that bar I could hear how my effect (i.e. amp simulator) will work,

Are you sure?
I'm not on Windows, but I'm pretty sure that in Audacity, effects only act on recorded audio (the audio in the selected audio track) and NOT on the live input stream.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:48 pm

steve wrote:
lespaulplayer621 wrote:I'm clicking on the Recording Meter Toolbar. Previously when I click that bar I could hear how my effect (i.e. amp simulator) will work,

Are you sure?
I'm not on Windows, but I'm pretty sure that in Audacity, effects only act on recorded audio (the audio in the selected audio track) and NOT on the live input stream.

The relevant section of the manual: http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/real ... fects.html
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by lespaulplayer621 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:43 pm

steve wrote:
Are you sure?
I'm not on Windows, but I'm pretty sure that in Audacity, effects only act on recorded audio (the audio in the selected audio track) and NOT on the live input stream.

steve wrote:The relevant section of the manual: http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/real ... fects.html


Thanks for your advice, it's very useful. But I had been using plugin effects with real-time preview, not the onboard effects of Audacity. But this is not the case. The most important thing is that now this program can't load new VST plugins correctly. And devolopers of Audacity should work on that problem.

And by the way, I 've made one mistake in one of my previous posts. I wrote that I'm using ZIP version of Audacity. This is not true. I've checked it a moment ago and noticed that I have normal version of this DAW.
lespaulplayer621
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:00 pm

You started off by saying that you had "EXACTLY THE SAME issue" as ericb7799, which turns out to not be the case as you are using a different version of Audacity, installed in a different location, with different plug-ins and different symptoms.

The first step when troubleshooting any technical problem is to clearly identify the problem. There can be no serious attempt at "fixing it" until the problem has been clearly identified. We are now on the second page of posts, and I am little clearer about what the problem is than I was at the start, though it appears that ericb7799 has a workable, albeit tedious solution. Are you able to "click through" the problem as ericb7799 described?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by lespaulplayer621 » Thu Mar 15, 2018 10:31 pm

steve wrote: (...) it appears that ericb7799 has a workable, albeit tedious solution. Are you able to "click through" the problem as ericb7799 described?


Yes, I can do it. Also, to be precise, this is not solution invented by ericb7799, but by me. I have noticed that it is possible to click through all error messages and erib7799 confirmed that it works for him too. And when I said that I have "exactly the same issue" I meant that I have the same error messages in the same situation. Maybe other circumstances are different for me and the other users with that problem, but I think that the essence is similar.

By the way, if you want I can send you my Audacity debug report and the log file, which I generated after I ran across that problem.
lespaulplayer621
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by ericb7799 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:24 pm

Was doing some troubleshooting in my AppData/local/Temp directory and found some
Audacity crashlogs and debug reports that may point to a cause of the problem.
At least from my (mostly)untrained eye appears to relate to a problem loading some
of FFMPEG components when FFMPEG is not in PATH. Here are a few excerpts:

:31:30: Checking that 'C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg' is in PATH...
12:31:30: Warning: FFmpeg directory 'C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg' is not in PATH.
12:31:30: Temporarily prepending ';C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg' to PATH...
12:31:30: Checking for monolithic avformat from 'C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg\avformat-55.dll'.
12:31:31: Error: Couldn't find symbol 'avutil_version' in a dynamic library (error 127: the specified procedure could not be found.)
12:31:31: Error: Couldn't find symbol 'avcodec_version' in a dynamic library (error 127: the specified procedure could not be found.)
12:31:31: avformat not monolithic
12:31:31: Loading avutil from 'avutil-52.dll'.
12:31:31: Loading avcodec from 'avcodec-55.dll'.
12:31:31: Loading avformat from 'C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg\avformat-55.dll'.
12:31:31: Returning PATH to previous setting...
12:31:31: Actual avutil path C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg\avutil-52.dll
12:31:31: Actual avcodec path C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg\avcodec-55.dll
12:31:31: Actual avformat path C:\Users\vhaglabruceed\Downloads\FFmpeg\avformat-55.dll
12:31:31: Importing symbols...
12:31:31: All symbols loaded successfully. Initializing the library.
12:31:31: Retrieving FFmpeg library version numbers:
12:31:31: AVCodec version 0x373466 - 55.52.102 (built against 0x373466 - 55.52.102)
12:31:31: AVFormat version 0x372164 - 55.33.100 (built against 0x372164 - 55.33.100)
12:31:31: AVUtil version 0x344264 - 52.66.100 (built against 0x344264 - 52.66.100)
ericb7799
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:58 am
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Problem with re-enabling plug-ins since upgrade to 2.2.2

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:41 am

Those FFmpeg messages are normal. It's just logging the search.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

PreviousNext

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests