Help with plug in for acx

Hello I am a novice to the software and running an old computer and need someone to walk me through the steps of getting a plug in to work for acx to help pass submissions. I found the acx plug in on the wiki page. However when I downloaded it it wouldn’t open anything but a text document and I searched the forums but got extremely overwhelmed and confused about how to make it work as I don’t know much about computers at all. Or this mac; which someone gave to me to do recordings on and artwork. It is El Capitan OS 10.11 MacBook Pro and I have the latest version of Audacity I believe as I just (downloaded it recently 3.0.3 I think) . Thank you in advance -FT

“ACX Check” is a “Nyquist plug-in”.
Installation instructions for macOS are here: https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/installing_effect_generator_and_analyzer_plug_ins_on_mac_os_x.html#nyquist_install

ACX Check won’t get you past audiobook acceptance. ACX Check will just tell you if your work passed or not. Amazon/ACX has an on-line version of the same thing. It’s their ACX Audiolab.

https://www.acx.com/audiolab

They will tell you things like: “It’s not loud enough.” It’s up to you to figure out what’s wrong, fix it, and do it without breaking anything else.

You may be starting a little early in the process. ACX has a couple of non-sound restrictions. I need to be able to buy your book right now on Amazon either as eBook or in paper.

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=a+is+for+alibi&crid=26V1X4OQULYQS&sprefix=A+is+for%2Caps%2C279&ref=nb_sb_ss_ts-doa-p_4_8

You can’t read a cookbook either, or anything else on this list (scroll down).

https://www.acx.com/help/200878270

Still OK? How long did it take you to write it and get published?

Koz