Accessing Metadata with Nyquist?

I’m new to Audacity and Nyquist, but I’m working on something that requires additional information to be added to audio files that are chopped up and I thought that the metadata would be a good place. I would like to have this done automatically, is there a way to access the metadata with Nyquist?

Nyquist does not have any built-in support for metadata as far as I’m aware.

If you tell us more about what you are doing, we ‘may’ be able to suggest an alternative approach.

I have to clip some long duration time tagged audio files but still carry that information over into the new files I generate. So for instance if I have a file that starts at 2:15 and goes to 5:15, and I clip a 15 minute segment of it at 3:45 to 4:00, that the clip starts at 3:45.

I’m not sure what you mean. Are you talking about metadata in files that you are importing, or are you referring to labelled audio clips in Audacity tracks?

I am trying to do something like this:

When I export the ‘clipped’ file to a new file, I’d like to have a timestamp in there that lets me know the original segment started at 7 seconds, so when I load it into another program it does not start playing the file until at T=7.

Sorry if this is something already possible in Audacity, I’m still new at it and learning. I tried searching on the manual and everywhere regarding timestamps and I can’t find anything.

If you don’t want the first 7 seconds to play, why not just delete the first 7 seconds? :confused:
I don’t see what you are hoping to achieve with metadata.

You are right, I don’t want the first 7 seconds to play, but I also don’t want it to start playing immediately when I load the file, it needs to know not to play the clip I created until the 7th second.