ACX Check: Help to Understand its Code

Hello everybody,

let’s start with a brief introduction: I am new to this forum and I am trying to learn Nyquist. I have no experience in LISP or SAL, I know a thing or two about C and its derivates (like C++ and C#). I am just a bit surprised about the lack of a good beginner’s guide, you know the real basics (for dummies).

Anyway, so I took the basic suggestion and started analyzing some previous plugins and due to my frequent use of ACX Check, this is where I started. Unfortunately it is written in LISP, but new plugins are written with SAL syntax.

Now, in ACX Check there is a function containing itself the function progv for which there is not SAL equivalent:

defun fmt-pretty (FMT &rest stuff)
  (progv '(*float-format*) (list FMT)
    (apply #'format stuff)))

I tried to understand what it does exactly yet failed. I know it is only used to format the results for display.

If someone could take this function and explain it step by step and maybe even code it in new SAL syntax, I’d really appreciate it. Please remember, I am new to Nyquist, so please use as many words as you like. :wink:

Thanks in advance!

Quick note: If your ACX Check succeeds on a mono show, the user display is relatively simple and concise.

But if you do everything wrong in stereo the panel reads like a small book. Make fresh coffee.

Screen Shot 2019-08-16 at 20.19.20.png
Koz

Thanks for taking the time but for this display and distinguishing between mono and stereo, there are other functions, like analyze-stereo and analyze-mono and the main function analyze. My guess is it has something to do with floating point to do. It always appears when the results are displayed in linear instead of dB.

But I do not want to understand its function bit its code. What does progv do, where does list get its values from, what does apply #'format do?

Did you find the Nyquist page in the Audacity manual? Nyquist - Audacity Manual