Nyquist and Plug-Ins

Please note that I am new in using an audio editor.

After reading some posts, I thought that the word “Nyquist” here refers to a category of “Plug-Ins”.
On the other hand, I noticed that, in the folder “audacity-win-2.3.0”, there are two separate folders titled “Nyquist” and “Plug-Ins”. And the files in these two folders are of different types.

So I am not sure now what could be the main differences between the two words “Nyquist” and “Plug-Ins”.

Thank you.
Kerim

Origins:

“Nyquist” is the name of a famous electronic engineer, Harry Nyquist.
He is probably most famous for the sampling theorem that he devised with Claude Shannon, which is now known as the Nyquist–Shannon sampling theorem, or by its shorter (informal) name, the “Nyquist Theorem”.

Nyquist programming language:

There is a programming language, designed specifically for working with sounds and music, by Roger Dannenberg at Carnegie Mellon University. This language was named after Harry Nyquist and the Nyquist–Shannon sampling theorem.

As Roger was also one of the original creators of Audacity, he thought it was a good idea to shoehorn the language into Audacity, and provided a rudimentary interface that allowed scripts (programs) written in the Nyquist language, to run as plug-ins in Audacity.

Nyquist programs are written in plain text, and run in the “Nyquist interpreter”, which is built into Audacity. Because the programs are just plain text, it is relatively easy for Audacity users to write their own Nyquist scripts.

Over the years, the interface between Nyquist and Audacity has been developed, allowing quite sophisticated plug-ins to be created.

Your Question:

The folder “Nyquist” contains files that belong to (are part of) the Nyquist programming language.
The folder “Plug-ins” contains the Nyquist plug-ins that are shipped with Audacity.

Thank you, Steve, for your detailed info.