"Operating system" for existing users

Suggestions and Questions About the Forum Web Site.
Forum rules
ImagePost here only if the Forum isn't working as you would like or expect.

If you require help using Audacity, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
cyrano
Posts: 2629
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:54 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

"Operating system" for existing users

Post by cyrano » Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:13 pm

New users need to select their operating system when registering on this forum. Very useful.

When I went to my profile to set it, it reads "please select". But it isn't a link, despite showing as a link optically.

How can I set that?

If this function isn't ready for prime time yet, can a mod set it to "OSX" or "OSX Mavericks" for my account?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81438
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by steve » Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:17 pm

To set the operating system, click on the "User Control Panel" link near the top left corner of the forum page.
Then select the "Profile" tab.
Then select your operating system from the multi-choice near the bottom of that section.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

cyrano
Posts: 2629
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:54 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by cyrano » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:42 pm

Thx Steve. Found it. Set it.

I was under the impression that clicking on my username would take me to the control panel (as it does in most other fora I know). Apparently not. :D

DJDemon
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 12:14 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by DJDemon » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:00 pm

steve wrote:
Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:17 pm
To set the operating system, click on the "User Control Panel" link near the top left corner of the forum page.
Then select the "Profile" tab.
Then select your operating system from the multi-choice near the bottom of that section.
Well, I found "User Control Panel" under the user name, now.
But there is no such multi-choice in the "Profile" tab. I've tried with both Firefox and Safari. What's wrong here?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81438
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by steve » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:28 pm

DJDemon wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:00 pm
But there is no such multi-choice in the "Profile" tab. I've tried with both Firefox and Safari. What's wrong here?
You are replying to a topic that is nearly 3 years old. The forum software has been updated several times since then.

To change your user profile:
  1. Click on your name near to right of the page and select "User Control Panel".
  2. Click on the "Profile" tab.
  3. Make the settings, and click the "Submit" button.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

DJDemon
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 12:14 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by DJDemon » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:26 am

steve wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:28 pm
You are replying to a topic that is nearly 3 years old. The forum software has been updated several times since then.
… and you were displaying a piece of information, which the users could not change any more ;)

I see that you have fixed the "Profile" tab now, THX !

Shrubbery
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:32 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by Shrubbery » Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:53 pm

Apparently, the forum software has been updated again, so now in August 2020 the profile option to change the operating system no longer exists (or at least I can't find it following the Username -> Profile menu).

Is there some other way to accomplish this? Thanks.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81438
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by steve » Fri Aug 28, 2020 12:30 am

Shrubbery wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:53 pm
Apparently, the forum software has been updated again, so now in August 2020 the profile option to change the operating system no longer exists (or at least I can't find it following the Username -> Profile menu).

Is there some other way to accomplish this? Thanks.
What is your main OS?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

DJDemon
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 12:14 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by DJDemon » Fri Aug 28, 2020 12:38 pm

Shrubbery wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:53 pm
… can't find it following the Username -> Profile menu
Click on your user name, select "User Control Panel", then select the tab labeled "Profile"". Works here (Firefox on macOS).

HTH
Walter

Shrubbery
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:32 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: "Operating system" for existing users

Post by Shrubbery » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:20 pm

steve wrote:
Fri Aug 28, 2020 12:30 am
What is your main OS?
It's 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, thanks.

Post Reply