Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Effects, Recipes, Interfacing with other software, etc.
Forum rules
If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
adaptiman
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:28 pm
Operating System: Linux Debian

Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Post by adaptiman » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:10 am

I've been told that LAME encoding is not as good (quality-wise) or fast as the Fraunhoffer encoder. Do you think this is true? Is there a way to use the Fraunhoffer encoder in Audacity?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47301
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Post by steve » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:02 pm

No, it's not true. The Fraunhofer encoder was abandoned years ago. It think the "latest" version was around 2007. Lame is still under development and has made significant improvements over the past decade, particularly in VBR encoding.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47301
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Post by steve » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:36 pm

adaptiman wrote:Is there a way to use the Fraunhoffer encoder in Audacity?
Audacity is able to use command line encoders: http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/expo ... ogram.html
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply