Transferring Records HELP!

I’m new to Audacity, though I’ve seen and heard other people transfer their 78rpm, 45rpm and even LP Records from their record players into Audacity, and I’m attempting to do the same thing here.

My set up involves a Dell Latitude and or a Lenovo Idea Pad (I’ve tried and regularly use both), running Windows 10 and Audacity 2.3.1 . The record player I’m using is a Califone 1030-AV from what’s theorized to be between the 70s & 90s (It’s hard to date one of these).

The cable I use to run between the Califone and my computer is comprised of two pieces.
One: a JEEUE 1/4" to 3.5mm Headphones Cable Adapter, 6.35mm (1/4 Inch) Male to 3.5mm (1/8 Inch) Female TRS. connected to
Two: a Monoprice 100646 25-Feet 3.5mm Stereo Plug/Plug M/M Cable. On my Califone, it had 3 places for it to plug into, Mic Aux, Speaker Aux, and Headphone Aux.

I’ve tried hooking up to all 3 of them and the other end into my computer into Audacity. After an INCREDIBLY PIERCING sound emitted from the Califone after trying to the Mic Aux, I’ve figured out that it probably isn’t the right one to put it in.

I’ve tried both others with no trouble from the Califone, though when putting it into the computer, I cant get the audio to go through the jack. It just records through the external mic to pick up the noise in my room. It doesn’t give me any option for a “In-Line” microphone or anything else like it that people have told me to look for. Can someone please help me get this problem solved?

In the absence of a manual (I’m guessing that you don’t have one and can’t find one on the Internet), my guess would be:

• Mic Aux = microphone input
  • Speaker Aux = mono output for an extension speaker
  • Headphone Aux = output for headphones

Ideally there would be a “line out”, but the Califone does not appear to have one. However, it should be possible to use the headphone out and connect it to a “line in” of a computer sound card / audio device.