Recording 4 channels: Behringer Uphoria UMC404HD [SOLVED]

Anything you think is missing, or needs enhancement, goes here.

If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Recording 4 channels: Behringer Uphoria UMC404HD [SOLVED]

Permanent link to this post Posted by rondds » Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:06 pm

FANTASTIC recording software as-is! My question revolves around the interface I recently purchased. Behringer uphoria UMC404HD pictured... it has 4 inputs. Are there any plans to make Audacity capable of recording more than two channels at one time?

Thank you!

Behringer png.png
Behringer png.png (1.31 MiB) Viewed 513 times
Last edited by steve on Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Put image inline to preserve board layout
rondds
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:51 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:25 am

Audacity will record multi-channel now. There are several devices with special software arrangements and the ability to lay down multiple tracks.

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=38626

I don't know that the Behringer will work natively since I believe Windows will naturally try to mount the device two-channel stereo.

You should avoid settings and software that use the word "ASIO." ASIO is a special software environment that Audacity doesn't easily support.

Have you ever compiled a software program? If not, then ASIO is not in your future.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 40174
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:29 am

Are you planning on overdubbing—multiple instruments or voices one on top of the other? In general the Behringer stuff is pretty good about sound management when you do that, the jury's out on multi-track. Remember, you have to use headphones and they're only two channel. USB sound devices are not mixers.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 40174
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:12 am

rondds wrote:Are there any plans to make Audacity capable of recording more than two channels at one time?

Audacity can record as many "channels" as are supported by the sound card drivers, but only one "device" at a time. So it all depends on whether the drivers for your device present a device with 4 channels, or two stereo devices.

Ensure that the device is connected to the computer and powered on, then launch Audacity (in that order).
Then open "Help menu > Diagnostics > Audio Device Info".
Wait for the info to appear, then save it somewhere convenient, then upload the saved file with your reply.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47007
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by rondds » Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:49 pm

I do overdub, but sometimes it's convenient to start with a couple of things at once. For example, drum machine needs 2 channels for stereo, guitar and bass. I can't do that right now. Most is two instruments at a time.

I've attached the .txt of the device info.

I am completely ignorant as to what ASIO software is.

Why would the soundcard be an issue if the Behringer is connected via USB? I used to use a 5 channel mixer and plug in via the LINE IN on the back of the PC, so I understand that limits me to 2 channels. The whole purpose of buying the Behringer was to utilize 4 tracks at a time. I've learned how to split tracks into 2 mono tracks by using L and R. I'm still limited to that despite the 4 channels on the Behringer.

And, if the sound card is the issue, could that issue be remedied by putting in a stand-alone sound card? I believe the one on this machine is built into the motherboard.


Thanks for trying to help me understand!!
Attachments
deviceinfo.txt
(6.91 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
rondds
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:51 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:14 am

This is what I was looking for:
Code: Select all
Device ID: 17
Device name: Line (2- BEHRINGER UMC404HD 192k)
Host name: Windows WASAPI
Recording channels: 4

This means that you need to set (in the device toolbar) the "host" to WASAPI, and the recording input to "Line (2- BEHRINGER UMC404HD 192k)", and that "should" give you 4 channel simultaneous recording.

Keep us informed of how you get on.

Note that Audacity only supports mono/stereo playback, (no surround sound).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47007
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by rondds » Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:22 am

That did it! I have 4 channels now. Thanks very much.

Question: If I try to switch back to the 2 channels via the DEVICE TOOLBAR after I've finished putting down 4 tracks, I get this error...
"Error opening sound device. Try changing the audio host, recording device and project sample rate"

Is that done via the DEVICE TOOLBAR? If so, it didn't work. Still get the error. Have to close out of Audacity and re-open, and in doing so, if I don't save the project, I lose the tracks. I suppose I could just keep recording with 4 tracks opening up each time, then delete the unused tracks later on (?)

Unless there's an easier way.

THANKS!!!!
rondds
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:51 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:43 am

rondds wrote:Question: If I try to switch back to the 2 channels via the DEVICE TOOLBAR

How are you doing that? Are you changing the selected recording device, or just changing the number of audio channels?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47007
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by rondds » Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:50 am

Just the number of audio channels in the drop down in the DEVICE TOOLBAR.
rondds
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:51 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: MORE THAN TWO CHANNEL RECORDING AT A TIME

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Feb 26, 2018 2:16 am

Rather than restarting Audacity, you could try "rescan audio devices" (Transport menu)
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47007
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Next

Return to Adding Features to Audacity



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest