Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Anything you think is missing, or needs enhancement, goes here.

If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by GuinnessTrinker » Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:38 am

Hi,
I recognized a bug when impoting rawdata with a samplerate of 163840 Hz.
When choosing the half (81920) everything is fine.

When viewing spectogram the frequency axe is wrong scaled.

I am using Windows 7 SP1 (64 bits)
GuinnessTrinker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by GuinnessTrinker » Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:42 am

ok, no bug. but feature request.

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/file ... mport.html
"Sample rate to be applied to the import (currently, only rates between 100 Hz and 100000 Hz are supported)"

why is it limited?
GuinnessTrinker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:57 am

[quote="GuinnessTrinker"]why is it limited?[/quote
I don't have a definitive answer as the code was written about a decade ago, and the developer is no longer involved in Audacity, by my guess would be that his reasoning was based on:
a) Audacity is an audio editor.
b) The audio bandwidth is 20 to 20 kHz
c) The required sample rate to accurately represent 20 to 20 kHz is around 44 kHz (double the sample rate + 10% as a ballpark figure on the safe side)
d) Common sample rates (10 years ago): 8, 11.025, 22.05, 44.1, 48 kHz
e) Professional studio standard sample rates: 44.1, 48, 96 kHz
f) 100 kHz is a round number (in decimal) on the generous side.
g) There has to be a limit at some point.

What figure would you suggest as an upper limit?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47011
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by GuinnessTrinker » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:08 am

We do use a "Terratec Profi-Audiosystem für USB"
http://www.terratec.de/liste.php?suche=DMX+6Fire+USB

which has a max. samplerate of 192 kHz.
GuinnessTrinker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by GuinnessTrinker » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:16 am

.. on the other hand there should pop up an error message when the range is failed.
GuinnessTrinker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:30 am

There are a few interfaces that go up to 384 kHz (which is OTT, but hey ho), so perhaps that would be a better maximum?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47011
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:34 am

GuinnessTrinker wrote:.. on the other hand there should pop up an error message when the range is failed.

I agree that it should give a warning, though if you look at the info on the left end of the track, it does clearly say that the sample rate of the track is 100000 Hz.

I presume that you are aware that you can work around the limitation by importing RAW at any sample rate, then set the track sample rate to whatever you want (I think the limit is about 1,000,000 Hz) http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/audi ... .html#rate
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47011
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by GuinnessTrinker » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:36 am

samplerate is just a number which is used for calculations.
The maximum is only limited by the software.
Ask the developers. ;-)
GuinnessTrinker
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Audacity 2.2.1: bug samplerate

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:18 am

GuinnessTrinker wrote:samplerate is just a number which is used for calculations.
The maximum is only limited by the software.
Ask the developers. ;-)

Not quite.
If you try to request or send data from / to a sound card at an unsupported rate, you get an error.
If you try to request or send data from / to a sound card at a rate that is supported only by the drivers but not the hardware, you get resampling.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47011
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu


Return to Adding Features to Audacity



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest