Advanced clipboard for complex journalistic projects

Hi everyone,

this is my first posting in the Audacity forums, although I’ve been using this software for a long time. I am a radio journalist and I would like to work with Audacity, which is a very powerful tool and whose Open Source philosophy I share. But unfortunately as soon as I have to work on complex projects involving the editing of a broadcast composed of numerous interviews the use of audacity becomes inconvenient.

I try to explain myself in more detail by giving an example of my workflow.

Normally a 25-minute audio documentary consists of 2-3 long interviews (10 minutes to an hour), music, archival pieces and sound effects.

My editing workflow consists of several steps:

1. Transcription of the interviews
  2. Selection in each interview of the parts that will be used in the final edit
  3. Dividing the interview into segments that will then be organized along with music and sound effects in the final edit
  4. Final editing in a single file
  5. Mixing, mastering, etc.

The difficulty in using Audacity lies in the fact that there is no effective way to perform the actions in point 2 and 3.
In the programs I normally use (HIndenburg Journalist, DigaSystem) it is possible to select directly in the waveform a part of an interview and add it to a clipboard where all the clips of an interview can be organized to be reused later and rearranged on the editing timeline.
All of this can be done by importing all of the materials needed for the final edit into a single work session of the software, which can then be selected and sorted into the clipboard for later use in the desired order in the final edit by drag and drop on the timeline.

Having a similar feature in Audacity would make this software functional for journalistic work and a very powerful tool.

Thanks

Mattia

Tip 1:
When working on important projects, export backup copies frequently.
Record → Export backup