Lock the toolbars

It would be grand if the toolbars could be locked. There were many a times when I accidentally click on one of the toolbar handles in the front, and mess up their layout and disturb my workflow, and since the UI is a bit buggy at times in Audacity, it’s hard to get them to their original spot. Is there any way to implement a setting to lock the toolbars? Or at least to reset their position to the default?

There’s no way to lock the toolbars, but they can easily be reset:
“View menu > Toolbars > Reset Toolbars”

I wrote a proposal for suchlike in the Audacity Wiki a while back:
https://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Proposal:_GUI_Custom_Resets_for_Toolbar_Layouts

Sadly no developer has fount the time or inclination to pick this up.

Peter

Since this proposed feature clearly doesn’t get enough attention, I’d just like to add my vote for a toolbar locking option. I’ve been using Audacity regularly for about 7 years, and not once in all that time have I ever had a desire to change the layout of my toolbars after initially positioning everything the way I wanted it. Unfortunately, at least once or twice a day I end up clicking on the grabber and shifting a toolbar to a different spot by mistake. More often than not, I’m trying to click the Selection Tool but end up moving the whole Audacity Tools Toolbar to a different line, thus shifting every other toolbar. It doesn’t matter that I can reset all the toolbars; going through and removing all of the ones I don’t use would require more effort than just carefully dragging the misplaced toolbar back where it belongs.

It’s basically a minor annoyance I have to deal with constantly that seems like it would be very easy to fix. I would be eternally grateful if someone could get on it!