Moving a selection

Anything you think is missing, or needs enhancement, goes here.
Forum rules
If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
lopsataltu
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 4:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Moving a selection

Post by lopsataltu » Mon Aug 22, 2022 10:32 pm

Seems kind of an obvious feature, but moving a selection,
can't tell you how many times I needed to move a selection, instead I need to memorize the time stamps, or worse, I often need to calc the diff of the 2 points so I could duplicate the selection length at another stop/mark/point/sample.

Maybe there's a "trick" to this that I don't know of?

jademan
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:11 pm
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by jademan » Tue Aug 23, 2022 12:03 am

lopsataltu wrote:
Mon Aug 22, 2022 10:32 pm
Maybe there's a "trick" to this that I don't know of?
I'm not sure exactly what it is you are trying to do. :(

Perhaps it will help if you take a look at this video announcing the new features in Audacity 3.1: https://www.audacityteam.org/3.1.0-video :D
Audacity Volunteer

waxcylinder
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by waxcylinder » Tue Aug 23, 2022 7:23 am

You need to turn the selection into a clip to move it.

1. make the selection
2. Edit > Audio Clips > Split (shortcut Ctrl+I)

You can now move the clip by clicking and dragging on its Clip-handle drag-bar

Peter.
Audacity Old-timer

lopsataltu
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 4:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by lopsataltu » Tue Aug 23, 2022 7:51 am

What is it with this generation? Everything has to be a visual video.
I prefer to use raw data.

waxcylinder, thanks, but I'm not looking to move a "clip", I asked for "selection" in the title.

Here's an illustrated representation:
Attachments
1ker.gif
1ker.gif (385.15 KiB) Viewed 354 times

waxcylinder
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by waxcylinder » Tue Aug 23, 2022 8:20 am

The other way you can move a selction is to use Cut & Paste

Peter.
Audacity Old-timer

lopsataltu
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 4:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by lopsataltu » Tue Aug 23, 2022 8:30 am

I do not want to cut or/and paste.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 85413
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Moving a selection

Post by steve » Tue Aug 23, 2022 8:57 am

lopsataltu wrote:
Mon Aug 22, 2022 10:32 pm
Seems kind of an obvious feature, but moving a selection,
can't tell you how many times I needed to move a selection, instead I need to memorize the time stamps, or worse, I often need to calc the diff of the 2 points so I could duplicate the selection length at another stop/mark/point/sample.

Maybe there's a "trick" to this that I don't know of?
Set the selection toolbar to "Start and Length of selection" (https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/sel ... l#position)

Now, when you've got a selection that you want to move, just set the "Start" time (in the Selection Toolbar) to the time that you require. The "Length" of the selection remains unaltered (unless you want to change it).

------------

In you're looking for mouse driven "dragging" way to do this, there's a fairly nasty hack you can do:

1. Starting with a selection in a single track project...
2. "Ctrl + D" (Duplicate)
3. "Enter" (deselect the original track)
4. Drag the new clip by it's "clip handle" ("drag bar"). The selection moves with the clip.
5. "Tracks menu > Remove Tracks" (removes the new track)
6. "Enter" (reselects the original track)

(for multi-track projects you would need to move focus, with the "up" cursor key, to the originally selected track before step 6.)

This method is more efficient if you create a keyboard shortcut for "Tracks menu > Remove Tracks".
Learn more about Nyquist programming at audionyq.com

lopsataltu
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 4:00 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by lopsataltu » Tue Aug 23, 2022 9:07 am

Amazing!

Never used this feature before.

Steve to the rescue, once again!

Andy_P
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:29 pm
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Moving a selection

Post by Andy_P » Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:49 pm

So, as I understand it, you want to move the selection (i.e. the edit in and out points and the region in between) by click and dragging, but not the audio associated with it.
As an alternative to the suggestions above, how about using a label track?
1. Create the edit region across the relevant track or tracks, plus a label track.
2. Create a label (Ctrl-B or from the Edit-Labels menu)
3.Click once on the label region in the label track to select it, and then click and drag to move the selection.
(If you want the selection to apply to a different track, select either the clip or the entire track, before clicking on the label).

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 85413
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Moving a selection

Post by steve » Sat Sep 17, 2022 11:13 am

Andy_P wrote:
Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:49 pm
As an alternative to the suggestions above, how about using a label track?
1. Create the edit region across the relevant track or tracks, plus a label track.
2. Create a label (Ctrl-B or from the Edit-Labels menu)
3.Click once on the label region in the label track to select it, and then click and drag to move the selection.
Yes, that's another way.

Labels are slightly different in recent versions of Audacity from older versions, but this approach works in both older and newer versions. The difference is that in older versions (step 3) you click on the label's text area to make the selection, whereas in newer versions you need to click on the label's horizontal bar.
Learn more about Nyquist programming at audionyq.com

Post Reply