Waves Plugin

Anything you think is missing, or needs enhancement, goes here.
Forum rules
If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
Clamarc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:38 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Waves Plugin

Post by Clamarc » Tue Sep 14, 2021 3:41 pm

Hi,

I installed Waves plugins in Audacity... they were installed without error messages and they appear as activated in the plugin management screen, however, when I use one, it does nothing, the plugin interface appears on the screen, but it is not acting on the song!?

thanks
Clamarc

Trebor
Posts: 10133
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows 8 or 8.1

Re: Waves Plugin

Post by Trebor » Tue Sep 14, 2021 6:06 pm


Clamarc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:38 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waves Plugin

Post by Clamarc » Thu Sep 16, 2021 8:22 pm

Hi, Trebor

But the Plugin says it is VST (not VST3), so VST doesn't work either?... VST and VST3 are the same thing?

Thanks

DVDdoug
Forum Crew
Posts: 9609
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waves Plugin

Post by DVDdoug » Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:45 pm

VST3 is a new-different protocol.

Some (regular-old) VST plug-ins work in Audacity and some don't. 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins are not interchangeable so 64-bit plug-ins will NEVER work in 32-bit Audacity and and 32-bit plug-ins will NEVER work in 64-bit Audacity.

It's up to the plug-in developer to make it work with a particular host (if they want it to).

If you check the above WAVES link you'll see that Audacity is not officially supported. Sometimes a plug-in will work in a host that's not officially supported but if it doesn't "you can't complain." ;)

Most commercial plug-ins don't officially support Audacity. I assume this is because Audacity is free and most Audacity users probably won't pay for plug-ns. With free plug-ins it's usually hit-or-miss because the developer doesn't have the time or budget to test & debug with every audio editor and DAW.

Clamarc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2021 2:38 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waves Plugin

Post by Clamarc » Sat Sep 18, 2021 11:47 am

Hi DVDdoug

I understood what you said...
...but now the plugins are working in Audacity, I can't tell if it was because of a reboot or because the Waves Plugins need to be reloaded to really work in Audacity right after installation?!... what happens is now we're all working, including the iZotope that I also added right after the Waves ones. Mystery!!!!

thanks
clamor

Post Reply