Compiling with ASIO

Building and customizing Audacity from the source code.
Forum rules
If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
philmonty
Operating System: Please select

Compiling with ASIO

Post by philmonty » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:35 pm

Hi all

I am compiling Audacity with ASIO support. Spent a few days on this right now, and while I get Audacity compiled successfully, it bombs out on launch - no error, no splashscreen, just exits. To be fair, I am not an expert Windows developer, but everything seems to be correct.

Does anyone have any advice, or a link to a compiled version that I can use - this is for a community project and I have no intention of distributing. It's driving me NUTS! :evil:

Edgar
Forum Crew
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Compiling with ASIO

Post by Edgar » Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:03 am

philmonty wrote: Does anyone have any advice, or a link to a compiled version
We will need a lot more information on your compile process if you want help there. As for a link to a compiled version we may not help you out on that due to copyright-type restrictions. I am almost certain we can get you up and running with your own compiled version.

What OS and compiler are you using? Are you certain that you have compiled the appropriate wxWidgets libraries and that they are in the same folder as your Audacity.exe? How did you obtain your Audacity source code and, if you are getting it via SVN, what revision did you grab?
-Edgar
running Audacity personally customized 2.0.6 daily in a professional audio studio
occasionally using current Audacity alpha for testing and support situations
64-bit Windows Pro 10

philmonty

Post by philmonty » Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:56 am

Thanks for the reply Edgar

I am compiling on Windows 7 64 bit, with MS Visual Studio 2013

I have built WXWidgets 2.8.12, and put the .DLLs in the same directory as Audacity