want to get mod-script-pipe module working on Raspberry Pi, problems compiling

I have a Raspberry Pi Zero W and I’d like to get Audacity working with mod-script-pipe activated. I know this hardware is incredibly slow for Audacity, but the combination does what I need it to do for now (play multiple wav files as part of a project and selectively mute/unmute individual tracks). For the project I’m building, I’d like the muting/unmuting to be done via a script, and so I’m hoping to use mod-script-pipe to do this. Installing Audacity from a package (Add/Remove software in the GUI, which pointed to an old version, 2.2.2-1+b1 for raspbian buster) seems to result in no modules being available, though the software does run. It looks like I need to build it from the source code to have this module available (if that’s not the case, it’d be good to know a simpler way to do this), but I’m running into some trouble here (my Linux knowledge is a bit limited, but I have some programming experience and can follow directions…)

First, seems like the version of cmake installed was too old, but I was able to build and install a newer version, so I have cmake 3.18.4 installed now. I’ve tried following the directions at https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/building-audacity-2-4-2-on-ubuntu-20-04/57719/1
but keep running into the following error when running make after cmake:

cc: error: unrecognized argument in option ‘-mfpu=neon-vfpv4 -mcpu=cortex-a7’
cc: note: valid arguments to ‘-mfpu=’ are: auto crypto-neon-fp-armv8 fp-armv8 fpv4-sp-d16 fpv5-d16 fpv5-sp-d16 neon neon-fp-armv8 neon-fp16 neon-vfpv3 neon-vfpv4 vfp vfp3 vfpv2 vfpv3 vfpv3-d16 vfpv3-d16-fp16 vfpv3-fp16 vfpv3xd vfpv3xd-fp16 vfpv4 vfpv4-d16
make[2]: *** [cmake-proxies/libsoxr/CMakeFiles/libsoxr.dir/build.make:82: cmake-proxies/libsoxr/CMakeFiles/libsoxr.dir/__/__/lib-src/libsoxr/src/cr.c.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/Makefile2:2048: cmake-proxies/libsoxr/CMakeFiles/libsoxr.dir/all] Error 2