Difficulty building

Hi Guys,

I’m pretty new to Audacity and have been trying to get the build working over the last few days. I ideally wish to build with the ASIO drivers, but it’s hard going so far. Here are the problems I’m facing.

I’ve cloned audacity, and checked out commit 1322b40 (tagged Audacity-2.4.1).
I’ve cloned wxWidgets and checked out v3.1.1 branch (commit 379a404f - including submodules).

I’ve got Visual Studio 2017 professional and have built wxWidgets fine using the visual studio solution (as described in docs/msw/install.txt)

When I get to building Audacity is when I start getting issues. Firstly, I followed the instructions for building audacity from here using CMake. Although CMake was finding wxWidgets correctly via the environment variable, once I was building, it could not compile various files due to incomplete type definition (wxBitmap and others - I will provide more detail on request for CMake configure and build errors). I could not resolve this issue, so I accessed the same build document in the repo to build (win/build.txt) and it referred to the use of the solution file, which I successfully used. I confirmed that the ASIO drivers were being pulled in by inspecting the preprocessor directives.

After building successfully using the Visual Studio solution file, I built the installer and proceeded to install on my other Windows 10 machine. This was successful. However upon launching, I was receiving an “Unknown, unhandled exception” error, killing Audacity from the outset.

I have tried different things to see what might be causing the issue: I installed the release of 2.4.1 and then just inserted my audacity.exe (as I figured they use the same runtime dlls), but this created the same result. I’ve tried with wxWidgets 3.1.3 thinking that it could be this causing the issue.