Installing ASIO in Audacity

Building and customizing Audacity from the source code.
Forum rules
If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
raddy59
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:46 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by raddy59 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:53 pm

Following this with interest

i have Audacity, and use a Focusrite 2i2

I have an ASIO input and output option in Audacity.

Does this mean I am ASIO ready? Or do I need to do something else.

Interested because have real latency issues with 2i2 and Audacity.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by steve » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:02 pm

raddy59 wrote: Does this mean I am ASIO ready? Or do I need to do something else.
Official releases of Audacity do not support ASIO. Due to license restriction, Audacity cannot legally be distributed with ASIO support enabled. For more information, see here: https://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/ASIO_Audio_Interface
raddy59 wrote:Interested because have real latency issues with 2i2 and Audacity.
Latency should never be a problem in Audacity. If it is, then you are probably doing something wrong. Have you started a forum topic about this problem?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

raddy59
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:46 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by raddy59 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:08 pm

Yes I raised a forum thread - but I am always tinkering with latency adjustments and timeshifts and it's tiresome when you just have to lay some tracks down for a client.

This post - is it offering a way of plugging ASIO support into Audacity?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by steve » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:39 pm

raddy59 wrote:Yes I raised a forum thread - but I am always tinkering with latency adjustments and timeshifts and it's tiresome when you just have to lay some tracks down for a client.
Once latency correction has been set up correctly, there should be no need for fiddling until you change the recording device, the host setting, or the sample rate. For normal use it's just set it once and that's it.

If you post a link to your other topic I'll take a look and see if I can see what the problem might be.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by steve » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:48 pm

raddy59 wrote:This post - is it offering a way of plugging ASIO support into Audacity?
To enable ASIO support in Audacity you need to build Audacity from the source code. Unless you have experience building C++ applications from source code, it's no small task.
There's some information about building from source here: https://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Deve ... On_Windows
but we are currently in the middle of an upgrade which will result in different instructions for Audacity 2.3.0 (the current development code).

ASIO is NOT required by Audacity. The main reasons for building Audacity with ASIO support are (a) If you have a multi-channel sound card that requires ASIO for multi-channel recording, (b) you are using other audio software that uses ASIO and wish to use Audacity with the same audio device at the same time. If neither of those cases apply to you, then you probably don't need ASIO.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

raddy59
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:46 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by raddy59 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:08 pm

Thanks Steve:
http://forum.audacityteam.org/viewtopic ... 23#p345623


We resorted to time shift all the tracks in the end with Audacity :)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by steve » Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:20 pm

raddy59 wrote:Thanks Steve:
viewtopic.php?p=345623#p345623
I've replied here: viewtopic.php?p=345873#p345873
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Stannieman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:04 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by Stannieman » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:18 pm

Previously I had a hard time building Audacity, but with the latest 2.3 code that works with the default wxWidgets it was actually very straight forward to build it with just the latest Visual Studio.

Which brings me to the following:
It should be pretty easy to build a docker image based on microsoft/windowsservercore with VS Build Tools installed which then at runtime does:
1. Checks out wxWidgets source
2. Checks out Audacity source
3. Downloads ASIO SDK
4. Builds wxWidgets
5. Builds Audacity
6. Zips the output and writes it to a mounted volume

A simple docker-compose up + about 1 hour wait should then be enough to get you a ready to use Audacity with ASIO support. Because nothing ASIO related is distributed inside the image but rather it's downloaded when the user runs it this could be legally ok to do.

I have experience with building VS solutions in docker for windows containers so I can build the docker image. But I'm not 100% sure if this approach is legal. Any thoughts?

roadsterUK
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:00 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by roadsterUK » Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:27 am

I can't comment on the licensing/copyright aspects of this but if you wanted to do it this way for your own convenience then why not have a go. But I don't think its reasonable to ask the Audacity development volunteers to take on another task which could be a procedural nightmare every time something changes. If you look at the fork created by Henricj you will see that he has produced a similar integrated scripted build but if you have tried it you will know that many things can go wrong and in the end breaking down the build into individual steps is a more foolproof approach because its easier to identify which step has gone wrong.
Audacity's greatest asset is the contribution of individuals to its ongoing development, and if we are lucky enough to get a version 3.* there will be huge amounts of work in improving or replacing the partner elements such as wxwidgets and portaudio so distractions could be unhelpful.
Finally, as an ASIO user whose hardware currently dictates that I am very dependent on it for recording, I suggest that it may now have a limited life-span remaining as OS built in capability improves. So in a few years time the licensing and dependence on Steinberg may no longer be relevant.

Stannieman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:04 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Installing ASIO in Audacity

Post by Stannieman » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:54 am

No no of course the Audacity team shouldn't care about it, they have work enough with the actual app.
The idea was to provide a way to get it with ASIO for users without any programming experience, because for them it's not virtually impossible to get it.
I'll maintain the image + a GitHub repo with a script so it should be pretty turnkey for the end users:
1. Install docker for windows and select windows containers.
2. Run script
3. Eat cake
you will know that many things can go wrong and in the end breaking down the build into individual steps is a more foolproof approach
This will be ok. If the build script uses a specific commit hash of wxWidgets/Audacity that I have tested to work on the Docker image then it will work for everyone. That's what Docker is for: the environment in which the code is built is the same on every machine in the world. The "it (does not) work on my machine" problem is in 99.999% of the cases completely gone. This is a key difference with the other script.

Post Reply