Closing->Save Project dialog does not indicate which project

This section is now closed.
Forum rules
This forum is now closed.

For help with current Audacity, please post to the 2.x. board for your operating system.

Please post feedback about the current 2.x version on the 2.x.feedback board.
Locked
Edgar
Forum Crew
Posts: 2036
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:13 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Closing->Save Project dialog does not indicate which project

Post by Edgar » Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:56 am

I entered a bug on Audacity's Bugzilla about this:
http://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=322

What I want to do here is present a visual display of some "interesting" behavior on Win7. I want to thank Tony for bringing this to Audacity's attention!

To experience the situation:

Code: Select all

1) start Audacity
2) generate or import some audio
3) export* (format does not matter--use short unique names*)
4) open new project window (File > New)
5) generate or import some audio
6) export* (format does not matter--use short unique names*)
7) repeat steps 4 -> 6 until you have enough project windows open to "collapse" them into a single entry on the taskbar
8) shuffle them up on the desktop so the Z-order is well mixed*
9) pick any one and choose menu File > Quit (on Linux File > Exit don't know about Mac's terminology)

*shuffling, exporting and naming are optional but help expose the extent of the problem
Now, right click on the taskbar's single Audacity entry, a context menu pops up with "Close all windows":
TBcontextCloseAll.png
TBcontextCloseAll.png (243.45 KiB) Viewed 903 times
Choose "Close all windows"; to save your wrist a repetitive strain injury, press the <n> key to dismiss each dialog as it opens! Watch as the dialogs walk diagonally up and left:
Closers.png
Closers.png (972.11 KiB) Viewed 903 times

Locked