When recording albums the software leaves previously cut tracks at the end of each song

Forgive me if this has been covered before (I couldn’t find the topic). I’m new to Audacity. I’m recording albums (whole sides at a time). When I delete a song and move to the next one, it leaves a copy of that track at the end of the song. Do I just have to record one song, close the file and start over to prevent the ghost track? There’s got to be a better solution. Windows 10 machine… Any help/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.