WASAPI: Undesirable Fade-in effect at timestamp 0,0000

Some time ago I changed the audio host from MME to WASAPI, for some reason. From that time I can hear an effect, which I want to discuss:

I always use a rhythm track for recording music. In touch with the WASAPI host, the metronome click at timestamp 0,0000 has a different sound in comparison to the other clicks. This was just an observation and didn’t disturb my music work in detail. But as a technician I studied this effect in depth. And I’m not sure, is this effect…

• … just with my German hardware environment?
  • … do other folks have the same watching?
  • … a feature of WASAPI?
  • … a feature of Audacity?
  • … a “feature” which should be eliminated?

And as said in my introduction: only audible with host WASAPI and not with MME or DirectSound.

The setup for hearing this effect is very easy to do:

Generate / Tone … 4 kHz with a length of 4 ms(!). With an according zoom in you get the following picture:

Press play: the sound is like an airless hushed chirp, if at all.

Now move the clip just some samples (> 5) away from position 0,0000:

Press play again (cursor at position 0,0000) and the sound is a crispy chirp as I would expect.

Now follows some side effects evaluated by my tests:

Position the cursor anywhere within the clip:

Result: an airless hushed chirp

Then I want to record this effect with the overdubbing method into a new track. Result: the effect is gone. You always hear (and record) a crispy chirp.

Next experiment:

I divide the clip according the picture and start at the shown cursor position:

Result: an airless hushed chirp

And last test: position the start point in the gap between the clips:

Result: a crispy chirp

Finally I recorded this effect with an external recorder and manually adjusted recording level. The result I imported into Audacity and aligned the recordings at the right side of the master “Tone” which is 15 ms in length (yellow cursor):