Using Audacity to record mixes

Hi,

I’ve been using Audacity for a couple of years for various years for different purposes, and I’ve always been grateful that it’s relatively easy to use.

Right now though, I’m stumped about what to do and would appreciate any help or any suggestions anyone can offer.

I have a Technics SL1200 deck connected to a Gemini PS676-pro 2 mixer and a KORG Quad KAOSS Pad which then has two phono jacks leading to a USB plugged into my Dell laptop, so I can record from my deck with audio input from both the mixer and the KAOS Pad. That set-up - and variations on it work - all well and good! The Gemini mixer has a looping facility, which is excellent for doing edits of tracks.

However any recordings on Audacity from this set-up always pick up any extraneous audio heard during recording as well as the music recorded i.e. me coughing/moving buttons/anything. I appreciate this might not be the fault of Audacity as it happens if I do the same procedure with the demo version of MixPad. I’ve tried changing the audio input options in Audacity but to no effect. Any ideas?

Pat

Please itemize precisely what is plugged into what, including the type of plugs used (for example, whether USB, RCA plugs, mono 1/4" jack, stereo 1/4" jack …)

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the reply.

Technics: 2 male phono plugs are plugged into phono channel on mixer. Master out from mixer to input on KORG pad connected with two white and red male RCA phono plugs x 2 of the same. Output of Pad to laptop is two male RCA phono plugs going to a single male USB type A.

I’ve tried missing out the KORG Pad and going from the mixer to the laptop but still have ‘outside’ audio picking up my background noise as well as the actual audio I want recorded.

I have tinkered with the Audio input for recording on Audacity and with the microphone level on the volume mixer on my laptop but to no avail.