Tips for recording spoken audio

Hi guys,
I’ve been using Audacity for several years, but I’m still a total noob. I record spoken audio for YouTube tutorials, and I have a decent mike (a Rode) and usually get good results. But for some reason lately, I’m getting a lot of background noise when I export the files. I’m using Noise Reduction before I export (and I record in a very quiet space) but when I export as a wav file I’ve sudden;y begun having issues. If I export at 8 bit, there is a huge amount of noise over the file, but if I export at 16 bit, it’s really good, but there’s still a tiny bit of noise in the silences.

So what I’m looking for really is a good tute over the technical sides of creating really quiet audio files. As I said I use a Rode NT1 and a Roland Duo-Capture Ex, so I think my gear is good enough.

Any help or links much appreciated. You can hear the recordings at our YouTube channel at https://www.youtube.com/@AvadaVideos

With 8-bits you can hear the quantization noise… It’s what “low resolution” sounds like. It’s sort-of a “fuzz” on top of the audio. Quantization is similar to regular analog noise in-that it’s most noticeable with a quiet sounds (worse signal-to-noise ratio), but unlike analog noise it goes-away completely with “digital silence”.

Dither is intentionally-added noise that’s supposed to sound better than quantization noise. The “rule” is, “dither whenever you down-sample the bit depth.” You can try with and without it. I don’t work with 8-bit files, but somebody here thought dither made it worse…

1 Like

Unless you want to sound like a 1980’s video game, don’t do that.

@djaef, Has anything in your room changed lately? Having a good, quiet, “dead” booth or similar area to record in, is IMHO the most important factor in getting really quiet audio files.