Suddenly Crackling Noises

Howdy

Background: Im a relatively new podcaster. In truth, Im a consultant that is simply using podcasting as one of my content channels. I’m mostly comfortable editing, Ive been editing film for 10 years as a hobby (short films Ive done).

Ok, the problem. I converted a small closet to podcasting booth with sound proofing, surround the outside with noise dampening blankets. I have a sock over my Blue Yeti microphone to cut down on my breathing sounds, huge help. The blue Yeti hangs upside down and is several feet from my laptop. I guess thats about it, with regards to my set-up. I have recorded and edited about 8 podcasts, no problems. Suddenly, without anything changing, about 3 minutes in, I’m get a ton of crackling. Sounds very much like when speakers going out. I typically stand about 6-8 inches from the microphone, that seems to be the sweet spot. The only thing that has changed is I forgot to take my phone out of my pants pocket. Could that do that? Again- I have not had any problems with this in the past with the set-up I have outlined.

Thanks!
Bob

I can tell precisely when my cellphone “checks in” to the tower for confirmation of connection by listening to leakage in the sound system, but it’s not crackling. It’s more like highly distorted rag-time band. Google Spike Jones

Has it happened since? If I described to you a radio receiver at the same time you were looking at the inside of a microphone, you wouldn’t be able to tell which was which. It’s not a stretch.

Koz

So to test this, I just rerecord a smaller piece, I lost 48 minutes of unuseable audio- not fun, with my cell off (which is usually the case). If the problem does not repeat, assume cell phone interference?