STARTING FROM PAGE # 1 HELP !

To all:

I have been collecting vinyl since the early 1950’s…ergo I have over collected some 15K plus albums. Mostly 33’s some 45’s.
I really don’t care about placing the names in each recording I think I know most of them my heart now.
BUT I would like them in full stereo. The Apple Care people said “Oh yes, USB is full stereo !”. Other sources say nonsense !
I have several very good turntables with RCA phono plugs. One person told me to connect and name each song. Don’t think I’ll live that long
considering the total number of albums and songs on each. Researched The Sony Stereo USB turntable USB …still confused.
A friend who is a IT said USB is only “0” & “1” NOT analog !
So where to go now …any ideas ? Your help will be most appreciated ! I know nothing regarding this problem.
Getting different messages from different sources is very disheartening !!

Thank in advance !

CDR

Have a look at this page in the manual:

http://manual.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Tutorial_-_Copying_tapes,_LPs_or_minidiscs_to_CD

If you have a good turntable and pre-amp I’d suggest you use those. Get a “dual RCA to stereo mini plug” cable to plug from the output of your preamp to the line input of your Mac.

I don’t know of any USB turntable that has a good reputation. They seem to usually cheap-out on the platters (plastic, low mass → wow and flutter).

I (and many others here) are working on the same kind of project. After you’ve read the manual page, come back here if you have any questions.

– Bill

Bill,

Read the page you suggested I think I have those cables already so I’ll start tomorrow.

My main stereo is …well “kinda” nice …Full analog as in TUBES !! Class “A” Amps…pre-amps,etc.

But in my stash room…I have a 1971 Pioneer SA-1000 I have not used for decades…hey that was a lot of power back then. 70 watts RMS. LOL
But it has a slide-switch to disconnect amp from pre-amp. Think I’ll connect it and start transferring the jillions of songs.