Spectogramm Plot analysis

Hello everyone,

unfortunately, I have little knowledge about the topic and therefore would like to turn to you experts for help. My own research hasn’t really led me much further either.

I have made several recordings using microphones with the aim of understanding how well insulation works. Unfortunately, I’m having trouble interpreting the frequency analyses. I was able to determine that the dB unit on the y-axis represents the difference from the reference sound pressure level (which I believe is supposed to be a sine wave at 0dB).

Here are the two spectrograms:

I am sorry for the bad quality of the picture but I am only allowed to upload one picture. Briefly, the peaks are at about 6000Hz at -37dB with insulation and -52db with insulation.
Does this mean that the insulation shields around 15dB at, for example, 6000Hz, while it shields only about 2-3dB at 1000Hz? (Which would be expected)

How can I determine the sound pressure level at 6000Hz?

In other words, how can I make statements about the volume of the sounds at specific frequencies from such plot spectrograms?

Thank you in advance for your support, sorry, I’m really a complete beginner at this!

Best regards,

Franz

Can only determine relative changes, (e.g. the 15dB reduction), not the absolute values.
Need a calibrated device to measure absolute values of loudness …
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=loudness+meter&s=price-asc-rank
(any old mic will not do)

I’m curious - Is that insulation in the wall, and are you measuring through the wall? I would have expected to see more attenuation at 1kHz. (But insulation isn’t really “soundproofing”.) If it’s on the wall and you are absorbing reflections in a room, that’s more like what I’d expect to see.

Correct!

With an SPL meter.

There are SPL apps for smart phones, but the microphone sensitivity on phones is not calibrated so you don’t know if they are accurate or not. (Probably “better than nothing”.)

But… Things get tricky…