Saving changes to audio files

Mac OS X 10.14.4: As I understand, when I export an audio file that has been edited, I do NOT “save project” but as part of exporting select save at the end of the exporting process. Am I correct?

When you export a file, Audacity will ask you where you want to save the file that you are exporting.