Save Lossless Project...?

Mac 10.13.6 High Sierra
Audacity 2.4.2.

Just when I thought it was safe to unclench.

Generate > Noise: Pink, 10 seconds, 0.8 volume.

Use the slider to reduce the volume 10dB.

File > Save Project > Save Lossless…

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 9.18.00 AM.png
Success!

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 9.15.37 AM.png
Close Everything.


Double click the AUP file.

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 9.13.51 AM.png
!@#$%^

Koz

I can’t reproduce the problem on Linux.
Can you reproduce the problem?
Perhaps you could share that .AUP for us to look at.
Can you open the project from “File menu > Open”?

Can you reproduce the problem?

I’ll try it on a second machine.

Koz

I can’t reproduce this with Audacity 2.4.2 and macOS 10.15.7.

When you “close everything” does Audacity prompt you to save changes?

– Bill

When you “close everything” does Audacity prompt you to save changes?

Actually, it does. I didn’t write that down. I did think that was a little odd. I thought I just had.

Did I discover a tool that works recursively in the subjunctive?

Save a lossless copy of the project that you would have saved had you saved it?

What?

Koz

I think that’s a minor “bug”, but not worth logging because “Save Lossless Project” goes away in the next Audacity release.

“Save Lossless Project” goes away

That’s why I gave second thoughts to posting this.

So that brings us around to: How do you save a Lossless Project, since I just told somebody to do that a couple of hours ago?

Koz

For Audacity 2.4.2:
“File menu > Save Project > Save Lossless Copy of Project”


It’s coming back to me now. NOT a bug, because you have NOT saved the current project, you have only saved a COPY.

Example:

  1. Open “projectA”.
  2. Do some edits
  3. “Save Lossless Copy of Project” as “projectB”.

At this point “projectA” has been modified. If you close Audacity without “Saving”, then the edits made in step 2 will not be in “projectA”. If you want the edits from step 2 to be saved to “projectA” you must:

  1. Save Project.

NOT a bug

It’s an unintended feature when you lead someone to believe they have taken some action that they have in fact not taken. Save Lossless does not object to the action I took. If there is no pre-existing Project, Save a Copy should fail.

And that wasn’t an answer. So to get a Lossless Project from a fresh show, I have to File > Save a regular Project and then File > Save a Lossless Copy?

Good thing this is all going away.

Koz

I don’t follow. What “action” are you referring to?


No.
All projects are “lossless” except for the “Compressed Copy of Project”.
To get a Lossless Copy of the project all you need to do is File > Save a Lossless Copy.