Researcher in need of some help with noise reduction

Hi!

I’m an Canadian anthropology PhD student doing interviews in China for my thesis. I use an Olympus LS-10 to record my interviews, then later, after returning to the city, transcribe the interview to a written transcript.

Yesterday I came across an important audio interview that has really messed up sound. The batteries in my recorder, an Olympus LS-10 (quite good) must have been dying and recorded a nasty buzz that changes pitches through the recording as the batteries begin to fade.

I tried to clean out the noise, but I’m certainly not very technical, and the result was terrible. I only need to be able to hear intelligible voices. It doesn’t matter if the speech sounds unnatural or not. The main thing is I need to be able to hear what is being said.

Since I am very pressed for time- and have only very rudimentary audio-related knowledge, I would like to ask if someone here might have a look at this for me and see if they can strip out enough of the buzz but leave the voices intelligible. I don’t know if the file is savable or not, but I sure hope so.

Or perhaps someone might be able to provide me with step-by-step instructions on how to remove the noise myself using Audacity or some other application.

Thank you for your time!

see … Audacity noob needs help with filtering noise - #3 by Trebor

Select about five seconds of the show and Export as FLAC. Attach the FLAC file to the forum with the “Upload Attachment” tools under the text entry window.

The magic phrase is ‘a buzz that changes pitch’. That’s pretty serious.

That one problem kills a lot of useful tools.

Koz

Hi
Thanks for your useful suggestions.
I know that the varying pitch of the hum sound will make this a tough job.

I just don’t want to torture my poor assistant who must spend 9 hours typing a transcript of this conversation. If theres’ a way to reduce that annoying buzzing-hum, it will be great.