Repeat recording issue

Hi, I’m new to Audacity and I cant seem to NOT record every previous track onto the next one! All I want is to have a designated track for each instrument, or different tracks for each keyboard sound. So, consequently, I put down a click track first, then a keyboard track, then another keyboard track, but everything appears on the new track. So, I can never get rid of the click track cos its on every track, with everything else! If I reduce the playback volume on a particular track, it turns everything down! Nightmare! Can someone PLEASE tell me how to record only the instrument I’m playing on any particular track please and not have everything I have already recorded appear on that new track aswell? I hope it’s something simple, it probably is! Many thanks

How are you recording the instruments? (for example: “I am using a Samson CU1 microphone, plugged into a Fostex Phoenix II USB pre-amp, which is connected to the computer with a USB cable.”)

What have you set as the “host”, “Recording Device” and “Playback Device” in the device toolbar?

Hi Steve, I’ve connected my Korg Kross 2 to the desk (Allen & Heath Zed 16 FX). Then, I’ve connected the desk to my PC via the USB on the desk.
I open Audacity and lay a click track. Then, I go to the ‘tracks’ tab on Audacity and ‘add track’. I play the keyboard with the click track. Then, I want to lay another keyboard track so I again go to ‘add track’. Another track appears below, I click record and record the keyboard, still hearing the first track and click.

Every additional track I open records every previous track at the same time, so by the time I have done 5 tracks of keyboards, the 5th track has everything on it! So, its impossible to mix levels on each track as, apart from the original click track, they all have the previous track on them! E.g. track 1, then track 2 (1+2), then track 3 (1+2+3), etc.