Recording using digital input

Hi

I am new to Audacity but have been impressed with what I have seen so far.

I am in the process of transferring my audio collection (CDs, cassettes, LPs) to a hard drive on my PC. I have used foobar 2000 to rip the CDs and save in FLAC format and am just about to start copying cassettes, hence downloading Audacity. There is one particular aspect that I don’t currently understand and would welcome an explanation of, but before I come to that I’d better explain the setup I’m using.

My computer has the cheapest soundcard I could find that came with digital input (Trust SC-5250 5.1 Surround Sound Card). The analogue output from my cassette deck is connected to my Minidisc player (NB I am not recording to minidisc, merely using the player as an analogue-to-digital converter), then using a optical cable to connect the digital output from the Minidisc to the soundcard input. (My assumption is that the Minidisc analogue-to-digital converter will perform better than that in the soundcard - any comments?) I am using Audacity 1.3.4-beta.

When I record from cassette into Audacity (using the setup described above) the track is described as Stereo, 44100Hz 32-bit float. My concern is that if this involved a change of sample rate then there will have been data loss - I want the recordings on the hard drive to be the best quality possible, even if my current method of playing involves some degradation. So, how can I find the format of the output from my Minidisc player and thus ensure there is no sample rate conversion?