Plugin request or maybe just a hint in the correct direction

Hi all

I’m completely new to this overall topic of audacity and to be honest and I thought that my “demand” was easy to fulfill, but it turned out that it’s not as easy as I expected.
I want to pan (or fade) the left and right channel of a stereo audiotrack to switch every x seconds, where x could be something between 1 an 10 seconds.
so “left-center-right-center-left-center…”
I tried several plugins already like fade in, fade out, or pan random and the butterfly plugins, but non of them provided the result I would like to have, or at least as “easy”.I could work with fade in, fade out, by selecting every 2 seconds of the signal and making a fade out on the one and fade in on the other, but this would last hours to do so:(
Random Pan is going in the right direction, but it’s random… I also tried to “read” the nyquist code of this plugin, but I struggle to find out where the “randomness” is coming from and to change it according to my needs, to pan on a fixed time.
so maybe someone can point me to the right direction, either with an existing plugin or a way, to change the random pan according to my needs. The other option would be if someone would be so kind and provide a plugin for this :blush: :blush: :unamused:

There is a plug-in called “Panning (LFO)” that is similar to that, but the panning is regular. Missing features - Audacity Support

I think that this will do what you want, but if you would like to modify it in any way, please ask and we should be able to help.

That plug-in was written by David R Sky (who sadly passed away in 2009). He wrote a lot of the early Nyquist plug-ins for Audacity, but many of his plug-ins are not particularly easy to read.

The code that creates the randomness is coming from here:

(setq signal (sum 0.5 (mult 0.5 
(normalize maxwidth (lowpass2 (noise) maxspeed)))))

In particular is the function (noise) Nyquist Functions