now that equalization is gone.....

Hi Everyone!
I’m a newbie with audacity. I just upgraded from an older version of audacity and I read here that equalization effect has been replaced.
I watched a tutorial that requires this step:

“Equalization > select curve : low roll off for speech. Length of filter: about 5000 > ok”

I’m banging my head against a wall trying to figure how to do this now in the new version which I’m kicking myself for downloading now. Can anyone please tell me how to do this now that this effect no longer exists?

I’m trying to get my work to pass ACX and Findawayvoices requirements.

Thank you so much!

The old Equalization effect which had two modes (curves and sliders) has been spit into two: Filter Curve and Graphic EQ

Use Filter Curve…

and click the Manage button and the Factory Presets - from there you can select Low rolloff for speech

WC

There is a revised audiobook process. We are slowly cranking down through documentation to reflect these changes. This is in response to your other post.

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/guidance-on-acx-check-results/55195/2

Koz

Where did you see the older instructions? Is it still like that if you refresh the web page? In Firefox, it’s the circular arrow upper left.

Post the location if it’s broken.

Koz

Thank you for the help! I read it here:

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/audiobook-mastering-version-4/45908/1

But initially, I watched a tutorial on YouTube that had the exact same specifications.

I was confused by how to choose the “about 5000” part with the graph but it seems just choosing the Low rolloff for speech by itself does the trick because now I got the piece to pass.

I’m wondering if you can help with something else? These are the requirements for passing with Findawayvoices:

Each individual file must contain between 0.5 and 1 second of silence (room tone) at the beginning
of file, before narration performance begins, and between 1 and 5 seconds of silence (room tone) at