Need to create specific SNR for Hearing Research Project

I apologize, I am very new to Audacity.

I am doing a research project where we would like to present speech stimuli (short sentences) amid speech babble at a specific signal-to-noise ratio. The sentence files are mono tracks and 4 seconds long. The sentence presentation is only about 2-2.5 seconds so there is some silence on either side of the actual presentation. I also have a 6-talker speech babble file. For this experiment, I want the sentence to be 3 dB louder than the babble (+3dB SNR). I understand you could “Normalize” each track so that the sentence track is -12 dB (for example) and the babble is -15 dB, but if I understand correctly, this will normalize to the highest peak of the signal, correct? I don’t think I want to do that because the babble has several high peaks, whereas the sentence only has a few. The noise ends up sounding louder than I feel like it should. I’ve learned that the RMS value is a more accurate way of describing the loudness of a signal because it takes into account the fact that there are peaks and quieter parts of the signal.

I found a nyquist prompt code (from an old post: https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/signal-to-noise-ratios-intensity-normalisation/19123/1) that supposedly changes the RMS value of the track:
(setq target-level -12)
(mult s (/ (db-to-linear target-level)(peak (rms s) 100)))
According to this post, as long as the entire presentation of the word was within the first second, then it would change the RMS to -12 dB. I assume I need a code that would change the RMS value of the sentence (longer than one second) to -12 dB and a different code to change the RMS value of the babble to -15 dB.

Yes, Normalize and Amplify work on the highest peak.

Change the values of “12” and “100”.

(setq target-level -15)
(mult s (/ (db-to-linear target-level)(peak (rms s) 500)))

amplifies such that the maximum RMS level in the first 5 seconds is at the target level of -15 dB.