Need Advice for Recording a Podcast using Multipl Mics

Hey everyone,

I searched through the forums to try to find answers to my questions and one thing I’ve come to realize is I need a mixer no matter how much I don’t want to cough up the money to get one, but I’m dedicated to the podcast I want to do so it then it leads me to questions about mixers that I can’t seem to find answers to. I’m brand new to this, so I realize I may be lacking some common knowledge about mixers and recording, but I’m trying to learn and I’ve searched for a couple of hours without finding the answers I need. I apologize if this specifically has been answered before, I couldn’t find it. I also realize I learn better with visual tutorials rather than written ones and that may be why I’m so confused.

Mainly, I don’t quite get how mixers work. Well I do and I don’t. I understand it allows you to connect multiple audio and recording sources to one output and you plug it into a laptop and go from there. But exactly HOW. Where do you plug in your multiple microphones? What kind of microphones do you need to purchase? So let’s say if I wanted to use 4 usb mics, what kind of mixer would I need? Can I use multiple USB mics or do I need regular jack mics? (You know, mics that plug into the pink headphone jack type input) What about if I just use 2 usb mics or 1 usb mic and 1 jack mic?

Similarly, what mixer would you recommend? And of course, I’m on a budget, so the cheaper the better. I’m just basically trying to figure out how this mixer thing works before I actually go out and buy one. I don’t want to buy it and then find I got one that doesn’t do anything I need.

I basically want to be able to connect 2 mics, eventually up to 4 mics later on so I can do a roundtable podcast with some friends. I want to be able to use my laptop, and it’s basically an HP Pavillion dv5000 with Audacity. Any insight into what would be the best method would be really appreciated.

A few notes: