Muting the TV in the clip - Windows 10 - 2.1.1

Hello!

I am a complete noob at audio editing.
I understand what a track is, what a sound wave is but not much more than that.

So, I have a clip where the recording device was very close to a turned on TV.
Now, there are people talking, but the TV is taking over totally and I can’t hear what they are saying.

I have already extracted the sounds as a sound clip (I am a noob at editing, but I know a fair bit
about computers).

So, I need help in understanding how to do this.
My first thought was to remove the background noise, but then it occurred to me that - actually - the TV might be the foreground noise,
so that is what I would probably have to do.

As you can see, I am not even sure what is the right approach and I need some schooling :slight_smile:

Anybody’s got the patience to walk me through the process please? I am not even quite sure what are the
right questions to ask or what information is really important, which is why I am being generic and not providing a lot of information.

Thank you for your time!

A

No, can’t be done with conventional audio software.

If it’s for a court case, you should use your favourite search engine to look for “audio forensics”. Only a forensics practitioner recognised by the legal system would be regarded as able to provide legally admissible audio evidence.

Gale

Hi Gale!

First of all, thank you for your answer.

I hate it when things can’t be done without the help of special software but, alas, I am software
developer so I know exactly what you mean there.
Heh. For users who may look to do something like this: NO means no. This is not like “no it’s a long process”,
this is more like “No, the bloody sounds overlap so to extract the exact ones you need you would have to have a
much more powerful machine with completely different algorithms and selling a software that does this may
even be illegal”. So think about that before throwing a tantrum.