meta data changing language

Newbie here. Have had Audacity (2.0.2) for some time but I’m not a heavy user.

Had a strange problem show up this morning and I’m not exactly sure what is causing the problem or where to turn to correct. Hope an answer can be found here.

Have a sizable library of music on a memory stick that I use in the car. Was wanting to do some editing of these files and found this problem for the first time. Looking at the files using Explorer, I can see the meta data and it is in English. Import the file into Audacity and can do the editing or even not do any editing. When I go to export the file and reach the point where the meta data editor appears, all the text is now in what appears to me as being Japanese. If I do save the file (export) and look at the file again with Explorer, the meta data now shows up as Japanese. Since I’m talking a thousand or so files, manually editing the data back to English is not on my list of fun things to do.

Since the meta data can be seen in Exployer and is in English prior to importing in to Audacity, I’m thinking the problem isn’t with the file, memory stick or the fact Kenwood has indexed the files on the memory stick but is with Audacity but I’m sure I could be wrong.

Anyone ever see anything like this and if so, what did you do to correct?

Here are the components in this change of events:
Windows XP SP3
Kingston Data Traveler 8G memory stick, about 40% full.
Kenwood KDC-X395 receiver.
Clipboard01.jpg

Thanks for the report. I am on Windows 7 64-bit at the moment (English “Format” options in the Windows “Region and Language” Control Panel, Audacity running in “System” language, hence English). I noticed a while ago that 2.0.4 alpha or alpha-debug (our current development builds) show the name of imported files in East Asian characters when viewed in Help > Show Log… .

Do you see that in the log? What are your Windows and Audacity languages set to?